Contact us for a video consultation

PHONE: 803.799.7900

logo new

PHONE: 803.799.7900

Reckless Homicide/Vehicular Manslaughter in South Carolina

You can be charged with Reckless Homicide in South Carolina if a person dies as a result of injury where you were charged with Reckless Driving. This can occur up to three years after the original injury. If you are convicted, the penalties you face are serious:

  • Fines of between $1,000 and $5,000
  • Imprisonment for up to ten years
  • Suspension of your license for up to five years

An experienced attorney can help minimize the damage a Reckless Homicide charge can have on your future.  The lawyers at Bernstein and Bernstein can determine if your case falls under the double jeopardy law.  Our US Constitution provides that no person can be tried and convicted for the same crime twice.  If you have already been prosecuted for a crime related to the particular driving incident that caused the death, the lawyers at Bernstein & Bernstein may be able to protect you from a reckless homicide charge.

Experienced lawyers also know that if your license is suspended in South Carolina due to a Reckless Homicide conviction, you can apply for a reinstatement of your license after one year if you meet certain conditions. The criminal law attorneys at Bernstein & Bernstein can help you determine if you are eligible and assist you with the complex process of getting your driver’s license back.

If you’ve been charged with Reckless Homicide in Columbia, South Carolina, Contact the law offices of Bernstein and Bernstein for experienced help in defending your rights.

Schedule a Meeting

To schedule a free initial consultation (now by video), complete the form below: