Helping people since 1943

First DUI Arrest

Your First DUI Arrest in South Carolina

A Driving Under the Influence (DUI) arrest is a serious offense.  If you are convicted after your first DUI arrest in South Carolina, there are many negative potential implications. It could cost you in fines and additional insurance, and you could lose your job, your license, and your reputation.  It can even damage your chances for future employment.  You need an experienced law firm like Bernstein and Bernstein to help you fight this charge.

A first time DUI conviction in South Carolina may be punishable by:

  • fine of $400

or

  • imprisonment for at least 48 hours or up to 30 days

In addition, the court may also:

  • require the installation, at your expense, of an ignition interlock device designed to prevent the operation of the motor vehicle if the operator has consumed alcoholic beverages.

An experienced attorney can minimize these penalties.  The fine for a first offense may not be suspended, however, you may be able to serve forty-eight hours of public service employment instead of jail time.

If you are charged with a first time DUI offense, contact Bernstein and Bernstein for help in defending your rights in court.