Helping people since 1943

Felony DUI

Felony DUI in South Carolina

You can be charged with Felony DUI in South Carolina if, while under the influence of alcohol and/or drugs, you cause great bodily injury or death to another person while operating a motor vehicle.  This is a serious charge which can put you in jail.  You need knowledgeable attorneys to ensure your rights are protected and the penalties are minimized.

If you are convicted of Felony DUI resulting in great bodily injury, the punishment includes:

  • a mandatory fine of not less than $5,100, nor more than $10,100
  • mandatory imprisonment for not less than 30 days nor more than 15 years
  • driver’s license suspension during the term of imprisonment plus 3 years

If you are convicted of Felony DUI that results in a death, the punishment includes:

  • a mandatory fine of not less than $10,100 nor more than $25,100
  • mandatory imprisonment for not less than 1 year nor more than 25 years
  • driver’s license suspension during the term of imprisonment plus 3 years

Because the law states that no part of the mandatory sentences may be suspended, it is imperative that you have qualified, experienced help in defending yourself in court.  Contact Bernstein and Bernstein for a consultation regarding your case.